Tags

, ,

What is your vision- (1)
The first thing one decides when beginning a journey is where he wants to end up.   Proverbs 4:26 says, “Ponder the path of your feet; then all your ways will be sure.”

My oldest son had an internship in Monterey, CA this past summer.  As he drove across America with his friends, they had planned their path and where they would stop along the way.  Originally he had planned to stop and visit relatives in Texas, but when considering the date that the group had to arrive in CA, my son realized that stop was too far out of the way, and he adjusted their path.  This change would not have been made without a vision of arriving in CA by a specific date.

As we looked to our first son’s education my husband planned to send him to a local private school.  Joshua did attend kindergarten there. The following year when we would have had two students enrolled and three trips into town because of differing schedules, we realized an adjustment needed to be made.  The expense was too great for our budget. The time and gas for the three trips to school and back each day was not reasonable for us. I had an Elementary Education degree, so  why could I not teach them at home?  There were various reasons leading up to the decision, but that was the beginning of our homeschool journey.

I started our journey without having a vision statement for our learning in the home. If I had it to do over again, I would involve my husband in writing out a specific statement of what we envisioned our homeschool to be like.  So here we are 15 years into our journey, and we are considering and writing down our vision for learning in our home.  Better late than never!

Have you chosen and written a vision statement for your homeschool?  I would love to read your vision statement in the comments on this post.

