Tags

, ,

Though there are many reasons for individuals to choose education at home, my strongest motivation for homeschooling comes from the Bible.

Deuteronomy 6: 6 & 7

“These words, which I am commanding you today, shall be on your heart.  You shall teach them diligently to your sons and shall talk of them when you sit in your house and when you walk by the way and when you lie down and when you rise up.”

Though this does not mean that I can never be away from my child, I believe that this command is best obeyed by educating my children in my home.  If I am not with my children when I am sitting in my house, walking by the way, lying down, and rising up, how then can I be talking with them during these times?  Traditional schools have students from 4-6 hours a day.  Sleeping will take 8-10 hours of each day.  Over 50% of an average American child’s day is spent without the influence of one’s parents.  Solely based on the amount of time you spend with your child daily, who has the greatest influence on him?  You?  Someone else?  I choose to have the greatest amount of time with my children as long as I can have that influence.

As a result of this choice, I also have to BE what I want them to model.

To be truthful, I can homeschool from kindergarten to college and still not obey God’s desires.  This daily time together offers a prime platform for talking and teaching diligently what God desires in our lives.  The obedience of teaching diligently must be in the forefront of one’s mind constantly.  This means not only will I spend time with my child each day, but I must choose to teach them what God wants them to know.  I have to consciously choose EVERY DAY to have a Godly impact on my children.  As a result of this choice, I also have to BE what I want my children to become.” (Frightening isn’t it?)

That last statement is what I am having to correct in my own life right now.  It does take work, but it will be worth it!  Am I what I want my children to have as their personal example?

